Ctrl + Z

Ctrl + Z: The Right to be Forgotten by Meg Leta Jones

K 3264 .C65 J66 2016

“‘The Internet never forgets.’
That’s the adage of the Digital Age, a time when the information we share or is collected threatens to linger forever. The Internet is full of personal data from our pasts that can haunt our futures. The consequences can be serious, affecting relationships, employment, academic success, and any number of other unforeseeable opportunities.

One possible solution to this threat is a digital right to be forgotten. Such a right, like the one established in the European Union, could mean that Google (and other Internet entities) would have a legal duty to delete, hide, or anonymize information at the request of users from around the world. Critics of the idea say that it’s an attack on free speech and open access and that it is technologically impossible. What does a digital right to be forgotten mean for the United States and the global Internet community?

Ctrl + Z breaks down the debate and provides guidance for a way forward. Our existing perspectives, it argues, are too limited: we imagine that we can either easily forget everything or that we can forget nothing at all. By looking at new theories of privacy and organizing the many potential applications of law and technology, scholar Meg Leta Jones offers us a new set of nuanced choices. And to help us choose, she provides a digital information life cycle, reflects on particular legal cultures, and analyzes international interoperability. In the end, Jones argues, the right to be forgotten can be innovative, liberating, and globally viable.”
– publisher description

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s